Facts about Gums in Gluten Free Baking

Facts about Gums in Gluten Free Baking

Gluten-free bakers are divided on the issue of gums. Some swear by them, others swear at them.

Based on emails I receive from you, many of you are still on the fence about whether or not the addition of gums to our gluten-free baked goods is truly necessary.

I say, in most baked goods, it is not.

In fact, when I first began baking gluten-free in 2007, I never used gums. In a way, my ignorance of gums in gluten-free baking was bliss because it led me to ways of achieving terrific results without those food additives. Who knew, at the time, I was ahead of the curve when it comes to additive-free baking?!

Several years ago, there was much hype about how we “must use xanthan gum in our gluten free baking to achieve quality results” (yes, that is from a well-known gluten-free baking guru… I won’t name them, but boy, are they wrong!) made me wonder if I was missing something.

I decided to experiment to discover what all the fuss was about when it comes to gums in gluten-free baked goods. So, I saved up and bought some xanthan gum. ;) (I’m not the only one who thinks this stuff is just a wee bit pricey, am I??)

I soon discovered I prefer my baked goods without gums. Sure, I created quite a few successful recipes as I experimented with xanthan (and guar) gum. You will still see those recipes here on this site (although I have since refashioned most of them to be gum-free). Some folks enjoy those recipes I created using gums, so I want to leave them there. Besides, we’re all at different places on our gluten-free journey. Some people enjoy a good gluten-free cake mix, some like to make homemade gluten-free cake with xanthan gum, and others choose to omit gums altogether.

Like many of you, I’ve tried it all.

Gums are Not Necessary in Most Gluten-Free Baked Goods

What I learned along the way is that I can manipulate ingredients in my gluten-free baking to achieve success without additives like gums. That means one less (expensive) specialty ingredient to purchase and one less food additive in our gluten-free foods. I’m always keeping it simple, affordable, nutritious and fun!

Of course, you may be eating gums even if you don’t bake with them. Just peek at the ingredients list of pre-packaged gluten-free baked goods or box mixes. It is difficult to find a single product without some type of gum additive. Besides xanthan gum, you may see ingredients like guar gum, agar, carrageenan, gum Arabic, locust bean gum, or methylcellulose.

Many of you have asked exactly what these ingredients are, what they do, where they come from, and if you should invest in them for your home baking.

I agree its important to know what we’re eating. That’s why I’ve compiled these answers to help you decide how you feel about gums – in particular about xanthan gum – in your gluten free baked goods. Let’s start with the basics…

What are Gums and Why are They Used in Gluten Free Baking?

Gums are hydrocolloids. Very simply, that means they are large molecules that interact with water (or other liquid ingredients).

Most hydrocolloids are polysaccharides. Polysaccharides are carbohydrates made up of a bunch of sugar molecules bonded together. (One exception is gelatin, which is a protein, but that’s a topic for another day.)

In gluten-free baking, gums are added to recipes to mimic the elasticity, chewy texture and fluffiness the protein gluten provides in traditional baked goods.

Different gums behave in different ways. Because xanthan gum is by far the most frequently used gum in gluten free baking, it’s our focus today.

Why is Xanthan Gum a Favorite Food Additive?

Xanthan gum is favored by food manufacturers and home bakers for gluten-free foods because it retains its binding properties (it helps starches combine to trap air) in a variety of applications like yeast breads and in foods that contain acid (like buttermilk, vinegar, or lemon juice).

You may see xanthan gum show up on labels using an alias like bacterial polysaccharide, corn sugar gum, or Xanthomonas campestris.

With all those strange names, it makes us wonder…

How is Xanthan Gum Made?

To make xanthan gum, some type of sugar is fermented in a sterile growth medium for one to four days with a microbial substance called Xanthomonas campestris (X. campestris). Alcohol is added to cause a solid to precipitate out, and that solid is dried and ground into the powder we know as xanthan gum.

Simple enough, isn’t it? Not really.

I have some food for thought for you about xanthan gum that may help you decide whether or not you wish to include it in your gluten-free diet.

As you read on, keep in mind, I’m not trying to alarm anyone. I’m not even trying to convince you to eat (or not eat) any particular foods or ingredients. I simply want to continue raising awareness that there is often more to what we are eating than meets the eye.

Armed with this “Smart Nutrition Backed by Science”, it is easier for you to make the best decisions for your unique situation as you achieve wellness on your gluten-free diet.

A Closer Look at Xanthan Gum

The sugar that is fermented and used to “feed” the X. campestris bacteria is typically derived from corn.

For example, in a statement released by Bob’s Red Mill (no date provided), we learn their xanthan gum…

…is fed a diet of corn or soy. Since it is unknown whether xanthan gum could cause a reaction in people severely allergic to corn and soy products, we recommend using guar gum as a precaution for people with severe allergies to those foods.

(I believe that is sound advice when it comes to having food allergies to those derivatives.)

However, in a more recent statement from Bob’s Red Mill (posted on their website in June 2012 in response to inquiries about corn products used in their xanthan gum), we learn it is no longer corn, but now wheat starch that is used to produce their xanthan gum.

Regarding corn in xanthan gum: The microorganism that produces xanthan gum is actually fed a glucose solution that is derived from wheat starch. Gluten is found in the protein part of the wheat kernel and no gluten is contained in the solution of glucose. Additionally, after the bacteria eats the glucose, there is no wheat to be found in the outer coating that it produces, which is what makes up xanthan gum. The short answer here is, there is no corn used at all in the making of xanthan gum.

Perhaps you’re a bit shocked that wheat is involved at all… even though it is the starch portion only.

Well, it certainly seems the materials used for making xanthan gum at Bob’s Red Mill may have changed. For better or worse is difficult to say. One thing I can say is this:

This is a great example of why I’m always going on about how food manufacturers change ingredients or sources for ingredients and we, as the consumer, may never know.

Now, on product packaging for Bob’s Red Mill xanthan gum, here’s what you will see:

“Ingredient: Xanthan Gum
Manufactured in a facility that also uses tree nuts and soy.”

No mention of wheat there. But that is because they test their products and, as their statement claims, they detect no wheat or gluten in their xanthan gum.

Now, please understand I’m not picking on the good folks at Bob’s Red Mill. I like and use their gluten free products. I even recommend some of them on my website and frequently feature them in my nearly famous YouTube videos. ;)

I also appreciate the company’s willingness to be forthcoming on their website regarding how they produce xanthan gum. This is the type of openness you and I need from food manufacturers. It helps us make the best decisions about the products we want to purchase and use. Thanks, Bob! :)

To finish up with how xanthan gum is made, I need to tell you the “sterile growth medium” I mentioned at the beginning of this section is usually wheat, soy or corn based. Again, that depends on who is making it. Any number of mediums can be used. These three seem to be the most common.

Finally, I want you to know what X. campestris is. It’s actually a plant pathogen. A pathogen is something that can make living organisms sick. A plant pathogen is something that can causes diseases, like black rot, in plants, and can infect certain weeds.

Could Xanthan Gum Be Making You Sick?

After reading how xanthan gum is produced, you may be wondering about how it can affect you if you have food allergies to possible derivatives like corn, soy, wheat or dairy (remember, I said earlier that fermented sugar could be lactose, which is the sugar in milk).

The truth is, no matter how safe producers tell us their xanthan gum is, it can be a mysterious sticking point for some Celiac patients and others with certain food allergies and sensitivities.

For example, some individuals with Celiac disease or gluten sensitivity suffer ongoing gastrointestinal issues (bloating, gas, diarrhea) even after adhering to a strict gluten-free diet. In some cases those symptoms are a result of consuming xanthan gum.

If you are experiencing ongoing (and unexplained) symptoms, consider the amount of pre-packaged gluten-free foods you consume that have xanthan gum, or the amount of baking you do with xanthan gum.

You may want to eliminate xanthan gum from your diet to see if that alleviates your symptoms, especially if you have known allergies to corn, soy, or dairy. (Learn how to do this with an elimination diet here.)

Xanthan Gum Alternative

If you still want to use a gum in your gluten-free baking, guar gum may be an option. It can be used in place of xanthan gum in most gluten-free baked goods with similar results. Guar gum is derived from the seed of a plant and is much less expensive than xanthan gum. It is available in most grocery stores where gluten-free flours are sold.

Guar gum may also be an option if you like using gums in your gluten-free baking but are not comfortable with genetically engineered foods (like the corn or soy used to produce some xanthan gum – remember, different manufacturers used different base products).

Tips for Using Xanthan Gum in Your Gluten Free Baking

If you still want to use xanthan gum in your baked goods at home, here are some general guidelines:

Add 1/4 to 1 teaspoon per cup of gluten-free flour or flour blend (that does not already contain a gum), depending on what type baked good you are making.

For example, a cookie recipe would be fine with 1/4 (or as little as 1/8) teaspoon xanthan gum per cup of gluten-free flour, while a muffin or cake recipe would likely work well with a little more (up to 1/2 teaspoon per cup of gluten-free flour).

From my personal experience, I find the addition of xanthan gum to cookies, muffins, and quick breads unnecessary.

However, if you do use xanthan gum (or simply want to experiment), when adding xanthan gum to your baked goods at home, either dissolve it in the oil/liquid component of the recipe or whisk it into your dry ingredients. I have tried both ways and neither seems superior to the other. The point is to make sure it is either completely dissolved in the liquid portion or that no lumps or clumps exist in the dry portion. This will help you avoid slimy pockets in the finished product.

Like many food additives we have discussed, xanthan gum can also show up in other items we consume…

Other Places You Might Find Xanthan Gum

In addition to its use as a food additive in gluten-free baking, xanthan gum is also used as a stabilizing agent in certain foods (yogurt and salad dressing), in toothpaste, and even in some medicines. It also has therapeutic uses for individuals with diabetes (it lowers blood sugar), as a laxative (it swells in the intestine, which is why many individuals experience gas and bloating after eating xanthan gum), and as a saliva substitute for individuals who do not produce enough saliva naturally.

So there you have it… a bit of information about another food additive that has quietly slipped into our food supply, perhaps in too great a quantity.

Now it’s up to you to decide if it makes its way into YOUR world… What do you say? Leave a comment below to let me know.

Be sure to read more informative articles like this in the Knowlege Section, and enjoy my gum-free recipes in the Recipe Index.

xo,
Gigi ;)

Share This

PinIt
  • Ashley

    Thank you so much for this!! My 6yo is allergic to wheat and as of the past 2 weeks I’d introduced gf Bisquick which has xanthan gum in it and shes been outrageous. I’m not sure where Betty Crocker/GM get their xanthan gum but I wrote to them to see if it’s made with wheat or something else. I spoke to them earlier this year and they told me it was NOT made with corn. Hmm.

    I shared this with my gluten free/wheat free friends.

    • http://www.glutenfreegigi.com Gluten Free Gigi

      Hi, Ashley.

      You are very welcome! :)

      Great move writing to learn the source of Betty C’s xanthan gum. That’s what we must do with every producer. It may be a soy or wheat starch based gum… when you find out, I’d love to hear their response!

      Thank you, also, for sharing the article with others.
      I appreciate that so much!!

      xoxo,
      Gigi ;)

  • Caralyn

    very interesting! i do use xantham gum when cooking certain things, like bread…but i’ll have to rethink that now! thanks!

    • http://www.glutenfreegigi.com Gluten Free Gigi

      Caralyn,

      You’re most welcome! :)

      And yes, it is definitely food for thought, isn’t it?

      xo,
      Gigi ;)

  • Jill

    Thank you for this post. I’ve trying to find out as much information regarding xanthum gum and digestion as possible, and there is very little information. I wonder to what extent proliferation of gluten-free products is tied to the use of xanthum gum–it seems that any manufacturer, from General Mills to a local bakery–to create a line of edible gluten-free products with relative ease with the addition of xanthum gum. I wonder if we (gluten free people) are over-consuming this and other gums in our diet in an effort to mimic a “normal” diet (breads, pizzas, etc) rather than creating new diets without these things. From what I’ve been readings, a lot of the added ingredients necessary to mass produce gluten-free breads and baked goods are used as laxatives and in “colon cleanses,” which is exactly what we don’t need! I, personally, will be eliminating all these products and their added gums.

    • http://www.glutenfreegigi.com Gluten Free Gigi

      Hi, Jill. :)

      Xanthan gum was in use prior to the large upsurge of GF products being made available on the market; however, you’re right…it’s not difficult at all to make a GF food like cookies, crackers, breads, cakes, etc. with xanthan gum. Check most products (either a big name like General Mills, or a smaller, specialty company) like baking mixes and you’ll see the same flours again and again along with gums and additives.

      As you’ve heard me say in webinars before, if we go GF and substitute all our foods with “box food” and mixes, we’re consuming lots of these additives/gums. Manufacturers can say all they want that it is added in “relatively small quantities”; BUT I know the truth is most folks aren’t eating just one cookie, cracker, or slice of cake. I mean, let’s just all tell the truth about that.

      You’re right about the laxative effect, too.

      I agree… although I’ve left up recipes using gums on this site, I do not use them in my baking. For my GF pasta, it needs the gum, but my family loves my grain free pasta even more than the other recipe that is only GF, so we have changed to it entirely because it is gum free. :)

      Thanks for chiming in…I love how your mind works and how you’re always working so diligently to be your very, very best. You’re a true shining example to me and to others.

      xoxo,
      Gigi ;)

  • Debbie W.

    Thank you Gigi for sharing and researching about xanthan gum. It is shocking to find out that some of the things we eat are not what we expect, safe. Thank you for your dedication to searching for the truth.

    • http://www.glutenfreegigi.com Gluten Free Gigi

      Debbie,

      Thank you so much for your comment and the kind words.

      It makes my day to know the information is valuable to you!

      And yes, shocking is right. Many hidden mysteries in our foods, it seems. I’ll keep uncovering them, and I hope you’ll keep reading along. :)

      xo,
      Gigi ;)

  • Gail

    Refound this post. I have stopped using xanthan gum. If I fill unsure of the recipe I working with I use guar gum now. I I have done the recipe repeatly with success. I have used no gum and not bad results. In my making of pasta never used sny gums just eggs & pinch of salt & cold water. Thanks. Gail

    • http://www.glutenfreegigi.com Gluten Free Gigi

      Gail,

      You’re on the right track, for sure!

      Great news and happy you let me know! Keep going!!!

      xo

  • http://glutenfreegigi thelma venturini

    Thank you so much for all of your informative knowledge–I am learning so much from you.

    • http://www.glutenfreegigi.com Gluten Free Gigi

      Hi, Thelma.

      Thank you for the comment! It means so much to me to know my work is helping.

      If you have specific topic requests, please feel free to email me at mailbox@glutenfreegigi.com with those questions.

      xo

  • Amantha

    I am new at this. For years I have suffered. I do not remember how I found your post on gluten free products. I am trying some and the first taste was strange but now it is great. And it seems to help my situation. But I need more information on what to do.
    My questions: Where do I get the products with no gums in them?
    It seems that the stores where I shop all have Xanthan Gum in them. What is the difference in Xanthan and Guar gums?
    I have always wondered about that but never knew much about them.
    Also, the products have too much salt in them.
    Do you make your own gluten free flour and if so how?
    Thanks very much for your consideration.

    • http://www.glutenfreegigi.com Gluten Free Gigi

      Hi, Amantha.

      Gum-free processed gluten free foods (box foods, as I call them) are difficult to find.
      This is why I make my own and try to help my sweet readers, like you, do the same.

      To learn the difference between xanthan and guar gums, please see this article I wrote: http://www.glutenfreegigi.com/is-this-food-additive-making-you-sick/
      It reveals what gums are, why they are used in gf baking (and other non-gf baking) as well as where each is derived and the difference between the two gums.

      I do make my own gluten free flour blends. I have 7 blends that I make, and use 3 of them regularly. I share several simple “starter” blends here on the site and in time will share the other blends in “Food Solutions”. Stay tuned for those.

      xo

  • Samantha

    I would be interested in seeing a test between the difference of using psyllium husk vs gums??? And whether to mix with liquid first to make a gel or to simply add into dry ingredients? Shauna at glutenfreegirl.com now only uses psyllium instead of gums due to the fact that the gums were given her digestive grief like gluten did!

    • http://www.glutenfreegigi.com Gluten Free Gigi

      Hi, Samantha.

      Psyllium, available in whole husk or powder form for consumption, is a form of soluble fiber (that means we can’t digest it) and often used as a laxative.

      Of course, in bread baking, about 1-2 Tablespoons are typically used for a batch (loaf of bread, dozen muffins, etc.). I do not use it. I also do not use gums like xanthan or guar. I find I do not need them to produce crusty French bread, a slice-able sandwich loaf, dinner rolls (yeasted or not), cakes, cookies, etc.

      This is a matter of “to each her own” in the gluten free world.

      While some (myself included here) believe there are issues for many with consuming xanthan gum (guar gum, too, but much less than xanthan), there are well-respected gluten free cookbook authors who swear xanthan could never cause digestive issues akin to those gluten causes. I simply disagree (as Ahern does).

      So, bottom line, you won’t see me using psyllium here because I do not feel it is required. BUT that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t use it and enjoy it. It’s all a matter of personal preference. I respect yours. :)

      Hope this helps a bit.

      Note: there are other “gummy” ingredients to use in our GF baking, too (flax, chia, etc.), but that’s another post entirely! ;)

      xoxo

  • Pingback: Keeping Holiday Traditions & Essential Facts about 9 Top Holiday Baking Ingredients for a Gluten Free Diet — Gluten Free Gigi