My No Thought Required Gluten Free Food List for healthy gluten free eating is intended to highlight nutritious foods you can feel safe consuming today, even if this is your first day living gluten free.

In fact, you probably already have many of these naturally gluten free foods at home in your fridge or pantry.

Some tips to remember when selecting foods on a gluten free diet are:

  • Read food labels carefully because even foods like frozen vegetables can contain gluten if they have a sauce or sauce packet included.
  • Even if you have bought a product many times before and know it to be gluten free, ALWAYS read the label before each purchase. Manufacturers and food producers change recipes and formulations without our knowing, so even if you’ve eaten a particular food safely for some time, it is always wise to check the label each time prior to consuming it, just in case the recipe has changed.
  • Be especially careful when it comes to marinades and seasonings on pre-packaged meats – many contain gluten and other potential allergens, such as dairy, egg, soy (usually in the form of oil in a marinade), etc.
  • Buy fruits, vegetables and meats in their natural state (nothing at all added) whenever possible.
  • Remember current food labeling laws do not require manufacturers to list “gluten” in allergen or “contains” statements (only wheat is required because it is one of the top eight food allergens; gluten is not). Even if you do not see “wheat” in the allergen statement, still read the ingredients carefully for signs of gluten.
  • Be aware of the risk of cross-contamination with foods manufactured on shared equipment or in a non-dedicated facility. For example, corn meal is by definition gluten free; however, many companies manufacture corn meal in the same plant on the same equipment where wheat flour is processed. This is why certified gluten free products are best.
  • Steer clear of buying from bulk bins. While foods like dry beans, grains, dried fruits and nuts are often less expensive in bulk form, the risk of cross-contamination is significant in these items. Again, certified gluten free is always best.

No Thought Required Gluten Free Food List

GRAINS, FLOURS and Starches (make sure these are certified GF)

  • Rice (white or brown)
  • Rice flour (white or brown)
  • Quinoa (several color varieties available including traditional “white” as well as red, black and orange)
  • Nut flours (almond meal, chesnut flour, cashew flour, etc.)
  • Cornstarch, Cornmeal, & Polenta (If you are concerened about GMO products, be sure to locate a gluten-free, non-GMO certified brand.)
  • Potato starch & flour (These are not the same ingredient. Learn the difference HERE.)
  • Millet & Millet flour
  • Sorghum flour (If you are allergic to some grasses, you may also be allergic to sorghum. Read this article to learn more.)
  • Teff
  • Tapioca flour (This is actually a starch.)
  • Soy flour
  • Pea & Bean flours (Green or yellow pea, fava bean flour, garbonzo bean flour, etc.; note, while pea flours do not add a flavor to baked goods, green pea flour will add a distinct green color; bean flours impart a distinct bean flavor some are not excited about.)
  • Amaranth
  • Certified gluten-free Oats only
  • Arrowroot flour (This is a starch.)

DAIRY

  • Milk
  • Cheese (without added flavorings that may contain gluten; check labels on blue cheese, as some is cultured from wheat bread.)
  • Butter
  • Yogurt (without extras like oats, cookie bits, etc., that may contain gluten)

DAIRY ALTERNATIVES

  • Plant-based milks like coconut, rice and almond milks (read labels carefully)
  • Daiya Vegan “cheese” shreds, wedges and slices
  • Coconut or Soy Milk cultured products (“yogurts”)

FRUITS, VEGGIES, PROTEINS

  • Fresh, frozen, or canned fruits & vegetables
  • Meats with no added seasonings, sauces, or gravies
  • Seafood with no added seasonings, sauces, or gravies
  • Nuts & nut butters (without added flavorings)
  • Eggs

SEASONINGS & CONDIMENTS

  • Lemon or lime juice
  • Salt & pepper
  • Herbs & spices (make sure you’re buying the whole herb and grinding your own, or purchasing pre-ground from a trusted source)
  • Condiments like ketchup, mustard (read labels on blended mustard products), mayonnaise (again, read the label, most mainstream brands are safe)
  • Wine (check labels on blended wines, ciders, and wine coolers – malt is not safe)
  • Vinegar (most are fine; check labels on flavored vinegars; AVOID malt vinegar, as malt is derived from barley, which is a gluten grain.)
  • Oils (Be sure to check labels on oils with added ingredients or those infused with flavorings.)
  • Coconut Aminos (as a soy sauce replacement) – learn more about the brand I like at Coconut Secrets.
  • Kimchi – I like King’s Brand.