Many myths and misconceptions exist when it comes to the topic of alcoholic beverages and gluten. Some sources say all alcohol is gluten-free, across the board, while others claim variation exists among varieties.
Here, we set the record straight with science-based facts, logical explanations and links to resources to help each individual decide which, if any, alcoholic beverages they will consume on their gluten-free diet. After all, diet, gluten-free or otherwise, is very personal and each of us is unique. There is no one-size-fits-all formula.
Keep in mind, this information applies to anyone on a gluten-free diet, but is of greatest importance (and is primarily written to help) individuals who must live gluten-free due to a medical condition like celiac disease or gluten sensitivity (or any other gluten-related health issue).