Wheatgrass is a controversial ingredient in the gluten-free world and it’s no wonder! The word “wheat” glares at you, yet there are numerous wheatgrass-containing health food products labeled gluten-free. Then there’s the wheatgrass shots offered by one of my favorite gluten-free juice bars. And what about Aloha, a company I partner with? They promote their Daily Good Greens powder supplement as gluten-free, but it contains wheatgrass. Before we scrap it all and skip this superfood ingredient, let’s answer the question “Is Wheatgrass Gluten-Free?” with science. Continue Reading
In May 2012, I wrote this article explaining the science behind the drug in development by Alvine Pharmaceutical that is designed to degrade gluten, thus allowing individuals with celiac disease to potentially consume gluten-filled foods.
Since that time, pharmaceutical companies and researchers all over the world continue to push aggressively to develop a product to market as one that will somehow allow individuals with celiac disease to consume gluten “safely” (i.e., without the intestinal damage and subsequent negative effects associated with the disease).
Most recently, the internet is abuzz about current research from the University of Alberta, Canada where, according to the primary investigator on the project, scientists developed “a natural supplement from the yolks of chicken eggs that prevents the absorption of gliadin, a component of gluten that people with celiac disease have difficulty digesting”. Continue Reading
Turmeric, botanical name Curcuma longa, is a relative of ginger. And like its pungent cousin, it is the rhizome portion of the plant (often called the “root”) that is prized for culinary and medicinal applications alike.
If you see turmeric in the produce section of your local market, it looks similar, if a bit smaller, to fresh ginger on the exterior. Inside, however, turmeric boasts its gorgeously vibrant golden color. Continue Reading
The Energy Supplement Acetyl L-Carnitine is an amino acid naturally produced in the body.
You’ll recall amino acids are the building blocks for proteins in the body. In addition to its role in many vital functions such as heart and brain function, acetyl L-carnitine helps the body produce energy. Research studies show acetyl L-carnitine provides a variety of health beneifts.
Reported Health Benefits of Energy Supplement Acetyl L-Carnitine
Energy Supplement Acetyl L-Carnitine is used for a variety of issues including:
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Age-related memory loss
- Age-related depression
- Cognitive issues associated with alcohol abuse
- Cognitive deficits associated with Lyme disease
The Energy Supplement Acetyl L-Carnitine is also used for:
- Neuropathic pain caused by diabetes
- Down syndrome
- Poor brain circulation
- Cataract treatment
- Drug abuse
- HIV/AIDS treatment
- Infertility in men
How Does the Energy Supplement Acetyl L-Carnitine work?
Acetyl-L-carnitine is a more readily available version of L-carnitine, which occurs naturally in the body. It is produced by the liver and kidneys, then makes its way to other tissues like the brain and heart where it is used for vital functions.
Acetyl-L-carnitine acts as an antioxidant and plays a role in the production of the cell-protecting free radical scavenger, glutathione. In addition to keeping cellular metabolism in check, acetyl-L-carnitine has been shown to help increase energy production on a cellular level, as well as enhancing physical and mental energy.
While it is unlikely anyone would become deficient in this amino acid, some sources suggest adding a supplement to the diet may be beneficial for improving memory and energy levels.
Recommended dosages are generally between 500-1500 milligrams per day for supplements. Because red meat is the principal dietary source of acetyl-L-carnitine, individuals who do not consume meat may want to consider supplementing after speaking with a trusted health care provider.
For more “Smart Nutrition Backed by Science”, be sure to check out the Knowledge Section of the site.
To your optimal health!
This Ingredients Inside: One A Day Vitamins may seem like an odd topic here, especially because I am no advocate of supplementing. However, this is an interesting find I want to share with you. Our focus is a specific product, One A Day VitaCraves Adult Multivitamin Gummies.
I discovered this product, and the red flag on the label (Contains: Wheat) while browsing the shelves in a local pharmacy. I peruse random items often. It can sometimes lead to the discovery of a great new product to share with you here. Other times, I’ll find something like this…
Ingredients Inside: One A Day Vitamins (VitaCraves Gummies) Contain Wheat
In a previous post about the link between osteoporosis and celiac disease (CD), we discussed how nutrient deficiency in CD can lead to poor bone health, as well as taking a closer look at what makes up our bones. We wrapped it all up with The Calcium Myth and daily recommended calcium requirements and a quick reveal of calcium’s supporting cast when it comes to bone health. (If you’re looking for non-dairy sources of calcium, be sure to read this post.)
Of course, calcium alone won’t do the trick. In fact, calcium is useless to our bones without an adequate amount of vitamin D. In terms of bone health and in preventing and treating osteoporosis, vitamin D is the wind beneath calcium’s wings. Continue Reading